Jump to content


AirSimmer & Quality of Technical Features


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
196 replies to this topic

#21 OSA330

OSA330

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 08 October 2007 - 04:56 PM

View PostNik Efimov, on Oct 7 2007, 02:08 PM, said:

Here's a tiny bit to illustrate the ADIRS

I guess we could use this thread to preview the little things once in a while :)
Awesome Nik! And, I don't think we are going to mind if you preview more things! :P

View PostVulcanB2, on Oct 7 2007, 09:26 PM, said:

@Nik: Any hints as to how close to release you are????
I hope it's soon. ;)

Posted Image
Airbus A380 - The flagship of the 21st Century.


#22 VulcanB2

VulcanB2

    Guru

  • AirSimmer team
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 08 October 2007 - 06:37 PM

CAN'T WAIT!!! :D :D

Best regards,
Vulcan.
Posted Image

#23 Pablo Reis Arrais

Pablo Reis Arrais

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 09 October 2007 - 04:17 AM

Finally, someone has discovered/realized exactly what hardcore simmers want for flight simulation.
Thank you, very much, Airsimmer team.

Nik, when you said "auto-throttle", you wanna say "auto-thrust", don't you?  :huh:  Or, Am I wrong?

Cheers and keep up the great work!
Regards from Brazil
Posted Image

#24 Nik Efimov

Nik Efimov

    AirSimmer Team

  • Administrators
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto
  • Country:Canada

Posted 09 October 2007 - 04:21 AM

Oh no I have commited a sin that is almost worse than calling the FMGS an 'FMS' or calling the FCU an 'MCP' :o

I apologize, of course I meant Auto THRUST

#25 Marcopolo31

Marcopolo31

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:LFBO
  • Country:France

Posted 09 October 2007 - 07:56 AM

Hi Nik. If I move inadvertently my joystick while flying with autopilot engaged, will the autopilot disengage? If yes, do you implement the "clack" noise from the solenoid in the side stick assembly (at engagement/disengagement).

All the best!

#26 sergejv

sergejv

    Scholar

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Country:Latvia

Posted 09 October 2007 - 08:53 AM

And what about AP disconnect for:
Normal Law
Pitch
F/D bars and FMA modes Off at: Up 25
Intel P-IV 3.2Ghz (Abit AS8-3RD-Eye), DDR400 2x512 (2-2-2-5), GF6800 Ultra 256/256, HDD 80Gb&250Gb, Win XP SP2.
Samsung SyncMaster 940FN 19"(1280X1024)

#27 Thomas

Thomas

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:LOWI
  • Interests:Aviation :)
  • Country:Austria

Posted 09 October 2007 - 10:37 AM

View PostNik Efimov, on Oct 9 2007, 06:21 AM, said:

Oh no I have commited a sin that is almost worse than calling the FMGS an 'FMS' or calling the FCU an 'MCP' :o

I apologize, of course I meant Auto THRUST

I flew an Airbus, touched the MCP, engaged the Auto throttle and programmed the FMS and then I knew: This isn
PPL(A) (DA2o & C172)/ IVAO: WLC7GM
Posted Image
***"design team"-photographer, currently working on: LOWI 2oo9***
System: Intel Core2Duo T95oo @ 2,9GHz / 4o96 MB RAM / Nvidia M98ooGTS (1o24VRAM) / Vista 32

#28 OSA330

OSA330

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2007 - 03:46 PM

[quote name='sergejv' post='1539' date='Oct 9 2007, 04:53 AM']And what about AP disconnect for:
[u]Normal Law [/u]
Pitch
F/D bars and FMA modes Off at: Up 25

Posted Image
Airbus A380 - The flagship of the 21st Century.


#29 VulcanB2

VulcanB2

    Guru

  • AirSimmer team
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2007 - 06:32 PM

So (just to be clear) the maintenance modes of the FMGS  ( ;) ) are not simulated, nor is the galley :D or the circuit breakers, but everything else is simulated? :D

Best regards,
Vulcan.
Posted Image

#30 KillerK

KillerK

    Scholar

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Country:Canada

Posted 09 October 2007 - 06:38 PM

A simulated galley...That would've been awesome...Click a button and the oven light comes on...Then goes off after some time...I swear I'd never fly the aircraft...Just be a virtual FA :lol: :lol:
Posted Image

#31 OSA330

OSA330

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2007 - 07:01 PM

View PostVulcanB2, on Oct 9 2007, 02:32 PM, said:

So (just to be clear) the maintenance modes of the FMGS  ( ;) ) are not simulated, nor is the galley :D or the circuit breakers, but everything else is simulated? :D

Best regards,
Vulcan.
Well, I don't know what you mean by 'everything else', but Nik has mentioned before that everything needed to complete a flight in FS is simulated. So, basically, all the systems and that kind of stuff is simulated, just like in real life. :)

Posted Image
Airbus A380 - The flagship of the 21st Century.


#32 VulcanB2

VulcanB2

    Guru

  • AirSimmer team
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2007 - 07:12 PM

(It was an attempt at humor - don't take my post seriously! ;) :lol: ).

Best regards,
Vulcan.
Posted Image

#33 Nik Efimov

Nik Efimov

    AirSimmer Team

  • Administrators
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto
  • Country:Canada

Posted 09 October 2007 - 07:16 PM

OSA330 is right about the autopilot!
It's great to see people who really do feel what AirSimmer is all about!

Vulcan,
FMGS and MCDU are NOT the same :) FMGS, for the most part, is accessed and controlled by the MCDU.
We simulate FMGS fully, but not ALL MCDU functions (Because there are so many that don't really apply to Flight Sim)

So, when you ask about 'Holding' or 'Vertical Profile', you are asking about an FMGS feature, but when you ask about maintenance, you are talking about MCDU

Just making it clear for those who might not know.

#34 VulcanB2

VulcanB2

    Guru

  • AirSimmer team
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2007 - 07:42 PM

D'oh!! I was in two minds over that one! :D  I thought MCDU was just the pilot interface (the keypad and display) and FMGS the system behind it. Duly noted! :D  I'm still ion Boeing mode - FMC = the actual system, CDU = the keypad and display. :)

Best regards,
Vulcan.
Posted Image

#35 Nik Efimov

Nik Efimov

    AirSimmer Team

  • Administrators
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto
  • Country:Canada

Posted 09 October 2007 - 08:18 PM

MCDU IS the interface for PARTS of FMGS (remember, FMGS also includes autopilot which is controlled through the FCU), but it is not used solely for FMGS :)

It's called Multifunctional Control Display Unit for a reason! ;)

#36 VulcanB2

VulcanB2

    Guru

  • AirSimmer team
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2007 - 08:34 PM

I just had something strange land in my inbox.

Posted Image

Best regards,
Vulcan.
Posted Image

#37 OSA330

OSA330

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 10 October 2007 - 12:51 AM

I've got a question that I haven't seen an answer for yet. Will the trim wheels in the cockpit be simulated? Will they move when you trim the plane (and the plane trims itself)?

Thanks! :)

Posted Image
Airbus A380 - The flagship of the 21st Century.


#38 Nik Efimov

Nik Efimov

    AirSimmer Team

  • Administrators
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto
  • Country:Canada

Posted 10 October 2007 - 01:20 AM

Affirmative

#39 James

James

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rome
  • Country:Italy

Posted 10 October 2007 - 06:39 AM

Nik, thus no CFDS stuff simulated? No post flight report or any other kind of reports? And what about the AIDS menu?
Thanks,
James
Posted Image
Core i7 - 920 @ 3.6 GHz - 6 GB RAM - Win 7 64
Nvidia GTX 285 - Iiyama 26" @ 1920 x 1200

#40 Nik Efimov

Nik Efimov

    AirSimmer Team

  • Administrators
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto
  • Country:Canada

Posted 10 October 2007 - 07:03 AM

All I was saying that you should not expect all MCDU features. This does NOT mean that nothing will be simulated. We will use the MCDU extensively for future features.

As far as AIDS goes, how do you imagine it done for FS? More importantly, how many simmers really desire a feature that is essentially maintenance-oriented?

Our gauges are built with DFDR capabilities in mind, so we are prepared to provide you with a flight data reporting system, if we see it as demanded.